Bylaws are rules or regulations that are created to control specific activities within New Plymouth District. Bylaws help ensure that our community is safe, healthy and vibrant. Their purposes include:

  • Requiring activities to be licensed; to ensure that activities are carried out in a safe and responsible manner.
  • Informing the community about acceptable standards of behaviour in public places.
  • Promoting a nuisance free environment, i.e. through rules on the keeping of animals.
  • Ensuring that the public can safely use public land.

Bylaws are a useful way of dealing with particular local nuisance problems. They focus on issues that the Council determines are significant enough to pass enforcement options.

The New Plymouth District Council Bylaws are made in accordance with the requirements set out in the Local Government Act 2002.

Freedom Camping Bylaw

NPDC has adopted amendments to the Freedom Camping Bylaw 2017. The changes to the bylaw come into effect on 14 December 2018, and are as follows:

  • Non-self-contained vehicles may stay for a maximum of one night in a 30-day period at any of the locations listed below, and must freedom camp only in the marked spaces:
    • Lake Rotomanu.
    • Battiscombe Terrace
    • Corbett Park.
  • Tents and other temporary structures are banned from freedom camping in New Plymouth District.
  • All freedom camping is prohibited from the following locations at all times:
    • Ōākura Beach front.
    • Fitzroy Beach car park.
    • East End Beach car park.
    • Back Beach bottom car park.
    • Kawaroa Park.
    • Waiwhakaiho River mouth.

You can read the full bylaw here or collect a hard copy of the bylaw from the Civic Centre on Liardet Street.

Bylaws in the New Plymouth District Council Bylaw 2008 and 2010

2008 Bylaws Amended and Readopted July 2013   

2008 Bylaws Amended and Readopted September 2014

Regional Air Quality