Election Background

Triennial elections for elected members of local authorities throughout New Zealand, including New Plymouth, are to be conducted, by postal vote, on Saturday 12 October 2019.

The elections will be conducted under the provisions of the Local Electoral Act 2001 and the Local Electoral Regulations 2001 and will be undertaken by Election Services, under contract to New Plymouth District Council.


Elections will be required for the following positions:

  • Mayor (elected ‘at large’) 
  • Councillors (14)
    • New Plymouth City Ward  (10)
    • North Ward (2)
    • South-West Ward (2)
  • Community Board Members (16) 
    • Clifton Community  (4)
    • Waitara Community  (4)
    • Inglewood Community  (4)
    • Kaitake Community  (4)
  • Taranaki Regional Council Members (either 5 members from the New Plymouth Constituency or 2 members from the North Taranaki Constituency) 
  • Taranaki District Health Board Members (7 members elected ‘at large’).


The nomination period was Friday 19 July 2019 to noon on Friday 16 August 2019  

Find below information made available to candidates.

More information

Further information on the election is available in the:

 There is information available on:

Important dates

19 July Candidate nominations open
 20 July Candidate information event
 16 August at noon Candidate nominations close
 21 August Public notice of candidates names
 20-25 September Voting documents delivered
 12 October at noon Election Day - voting closes
 17-23 October Declaration of results
 October/November Elected members' swearing in ceremonies